Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | September 28, 2008

Landscaping, Phase 2

Last post I was excited about the plants we had purchased and the plan for it all. Well, after a couple days of digging (we only had time to plant our snow fountain cherry on Thursday night), we now have a much better looking northwest corner.

Our landscape plan, as re-drawn by myself.

Our landscape plan, as re-drawn by myself.

The drawing above is NOT drawn to scale!

As you can see in the following pictures, all that is installed so far are the plants. Finishing Phase 2 will be planting a few groundcover plants, Steppables, that are going in an area where we may need to walk around. These will go next to the sidewalk, curving around to the back of our A/C unit. Not quite sure if I’ll plant another yew in front of that area.

Phase 3 will be installing a flagstone walkway that will join the patio to the side yard.

Where the flagstone pathway will be installed.

Where the flagstone pathway will be installed.

Still need to decide what exact color we want. I haven’t made it to the supply store yet to check out all the different types. We were only going to go just beyond the faucet, but hubby thought that it would be nice to have a pathway cut through this section. I agree.

After 3 hours of my digging, I have sore knees! But it looks wonderful.

After 3 hours of my digging, I have sore knees! But it looks wonderful.

We are quite happy with Rosie’s plan and think that so far, it looks great. Much better than a weed-covered hill of dirt. On to the flagstone!

Before, this area was full of heavy clay and weeds. I wanted to put plants in here, so hubby told me it was my pet project. After 6-7 hours of digging and dumping dirt, I had a lovely trench. When the rains came down a couple weeks ago, I had a lovely lagoon. Last Saturday was Dirt Day, and after filling this by myself (and by hand, too) for the most part, I had a great area for some hostas. I’m hoping to add in some bleeding hearts as well, and maybe some shady groundcover.

Four hostas, which will have neighbors soon.

Four hostas, which will have neighbors soon.

Doing this small bit of landscaping has been a lot of fun. It’s definitely gratifying to see what we can do on our own, and with help from a professional. Slowly but surely, we will landscape all around the house! Hubby looks forward to less “lawn” to mow. Someday we’ll have nice grass, but hey, weeds are green too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

