Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | October 4, 2008

Another Beautiful Day

Today was a beautiful day for buying plants and landscaping some more! : ) I found wonderful perennials at Wenke’s Greenhouse, where Jessica helped me make a decision about buying coral bells. **Note to gardeners: if you wait too long, bleeding heart will NOT be available. My original plan was to plant bleeding hearts with the hostas and had to be changed since they are sold out at a couple favorite greenhouses. So, I went with an autumn fern in the middle and coral bells for accent.

Autumn fern--aren't the colors gorgeous
Coral bells

Coral bells

I also found a few Steppables left at Wenke’s, and found some shade-tolerant ones, Aurea.

Steppables and another coral bell. I love the autumn colors of the leaves.

Steppables and another coral bell. I love the autumn colors of the leaves.

I also started working on preparing the area for the flagstone pathway. We were hoping to get that done today, but the supply store I stopped at this morning closed early. We got there just past 140pm and the sign on the door said they were open until 2pm on Saturdays. *Grrr* Anyhoo, I laid down weed barrier and sand.

Before sand (hubby dug it out)

Before sand (hubby dug it out)

The topsoil from the walkway area was used to fill in around the plants. So we didn’t have to buy any additional topsoil! Yay!

Future flagstone path

Future flagstone path

We are wanting to have this area all set to go before the end of the month. Hopefully, God willing, that will happen. It’s supposed to rain again tomorrow and I pray it doesn’t wash the dirt away from the shrubs again. Last night there was a hard frost, too. I covered up the garden plants; don’t want to lose those last cucumbers! Those are future pickles.

Leave a Reply

Categories

