Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | October 8, 2008

Rain rain and more rain

It almost seems as if it will not stop raining and for our dirt to not pull away from our plants. *sigh* We need enough nice weather to finish everything up: flagstone path, weed barrier, and mulch. Someday it will be done.

I did get some weeds dug up the other night. It was (another) unsightly mess of weeds and dirt near our front door. I’m still not sure what I want to plant there, but I at least wanted to get out most of the weeds. And dig while the dirt was still moist from the last rain. So long, nasty little sand burr plants!

I also moved rocks. Lots of rocks. In moving all these rocks, I found many earthworms to put in my compost bin! Very happy about that. Some were itty bitty, and others were big fat ones. I hope they find my compost pile to be a lovely home for them. In trying to get one pulled out of the dirt, I “made” two more worms. That was interesting.

We are *finally* going to have concrete poured in our barn this weekend! One reason I’m so excited about this is that a large amount of things will be moved out of our garage and we can actually go back to parking our cars in it. : ) This will be especially nice for hubby, since he leaves for work earlier than I do and won’t have to bother with his windshield being all fogged up and dewy. Another bonus: the car will be warmer than the air outside. Although I can’t complain too much since I have heated seats (which I adore!).

I don’t mind the rain. Our new landscaping needs to be watered. But I don’t like it being so gloomy. : ( Why can’t it be raining and sunny?

Leave a Reply

Categories

