Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | November 15, 2008

Random Rambling: Autumn

I happen to be one of those people that doesn’t have just one favorite season. I love them all! And living in Michigan, I get to experience every one. Each season has its own unique features. Spring carries the scent of all things new again, hope of new growth, and showers to renew the earth. Summer bursts with sunshine and warmth (and sweat…), and wonderfully long days. Autumn brings a beautiful bounty of changing colors, the smell of transformation to cooler temperatures, and the crispy crunch of biting into a fresh apple. Winter has red cheeks and noses, the whisper of falling snow, and cozy nights snuggled with a special someone under a comfy blanket and a cup of cocoa nearby. And Christmas, of course.

Because of my love for the seasons, I don’t like to rush through any of them. Sure, I get tired of the snow sticking around, just like everyone else. And I do understand the retail business enough to know that you need to keep up with the changing times. But one change that has started creeping out earlier each and every year is Christmas. The music, the decorations, the cards, the sales. Now I like a good sale, but Christmas sales in October? Where the Christmas trees are out right next to the pumpkins?! I worked at a retail business for 5 years. The first year I worked there we were putting up artificial Christmas trees a few days before Halloween. The next year, a little sooner, and so on and so forth. My last year there I was wearing a tank top and shorts while setting up the trees. Um, ridiculous! I don’t know what Retail Giant decided upon this schedule, but it is utterly nonsensical.

Thus, autumn doesn’t seem to get its fair share of recognition. We enjoy it for about a month at the most, then shove it aside as our excitement for the Christmas season seizes us and we blindly let it dictate us. Therefore, some are putting up their Christmas trees as someone else in the family is outside raking leaves and cleaning up the decomposing carved pumpkins, while listening to Christmas music on 105.7.

Do not misread this, folks. I adore the Christmas season. For me, it’s a time to remember the most amazing birth in history and be thankful for the gift of Jesus. I love digging out the decorations and putting them up all over the house. I especially love the baking and traditions. And yet, I can hold off until after Thanksgiving!

Speaking of which, Thanksgiving seems to be shoved aside more and more each year. Why did we (as a society) stop allowing this holiday its proper place? We seem to gloss it over and not think much about it. Not just the history of the day (the Pilgrims and Indians), but also the symbolism. Are we no longer thankful for…anything? We seem to take much for granted and not even remember to be grateful. For me, Thanksgiving is always a time to reflect on the past year and think about what all I am thankful for. I also enjoy getting together with family and eating all the rich and wonderful foods that are prepared. : )

We need to get back to the basics and not forget about autumn or Thanksgiving. We need to stop rushing through life. We need to stop, take a deep breath, and enjoy the moment. Savor the moment.

Here’s a quote that I am fond of: “Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” (Robert Brault)

And here is a short list of what I’m thankful for:

our church, North Point, and its pastor, Jason Zimmer

family and friends

technology (email is such a great way to keep in touch)

a house over my head

food in my tummy and fridge

clothes on my back

My hope is that this will cause you to take the time to reflect on what you are thankful for, and I mean really reflect. Don’t just give the “token list” of thanks. Seriously give it thought. You may surprise yourself with the list you create!

Responses

  1. Sis-
    I took a challenge a couple of years ago and made a list of over 1000 things I’m thankful for. Check it out on my blog- under the catagory 1000 gifts list.
    “Challenge!”
    love ya!


Leave a Reply

Categories

