Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | January 8, 2009

New Year = New You/Life?

So many resolutions are made each new year. And about all of them end up broken or discarded on January 2nd. Many people like the idea of a new year coming, in the thought that this is a chance for them to start over. My feeling is, why wait for a new year? If you want to change something in your life, do it when the idea first comes to you!

I do not make resolutions. And that is mostly because I do not stick to them longer than a couple weeks. I once read that it takes twenty-one days to form a new habit. I cannot seem to take the three weeks to try and form a new habit. My husband built an exercise room when he was building the house, and over the past year he has used it more than I, but not by much. Each time I try to get in the habit of exercising, it only lasts a couple weeks (and only a couple times each week). So for me, I really need to put effort into trying to form habits.

Now I know that everyone who reads this blog is not a church-going, God-loving, Jesus freak. But I am, so my views that are expressed follow my beliefs. I truly believe that if you want to change your life around for the better, no matter what it is you are going through, God has the power to help you make those changes. Whether it is as serious as trying to break an addiction or as simple as wanting to get in better shape, God can make it happen.

Pastor Jason had a great sermon on Sunday. It is part of his MythBusters series, about de-bunking some Bible/Jesus myths. Sunday’s sermon was entitled “Was Jesus Republican?” It was an awesome sermon that addressed the Republican issue as well as thinking about who I am as a person, about sharing what I believe. (If you are interested, the sermon can be downloaded from North Point’s website.) The main part that I walked away with was that I wanted to be in the Jesus Party (listen to sermon for full explanation–it is worth it!) and let people know. I have always been one of those people that is shy about sharing my beliefs. Pastor Jason’s sermon definitely convicted me and caused me to think about my life, how I live it, and how I share it with others. I still have a lot on my mind, still mulling it all over.

So this is not a resolution. It is a lifestyle change. It is the fact that I need to not hide. It is about wanting Jesus to shine from me so that others can see it. Which reminds me of a Newsboys song, “Shine.”

Chorus:

shine
make ´em wonder what you´ve got
make ´em wish that they were not
on the outside looking bored
shine
let it shine before all men
let´em see good works, and then
let ´em glorify the Lord

(lyrics)

Have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

