Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | February 4, 2009

Life: Contemplation

I am on the threshold of turning 29. Age is not a major problem for me; it is just a number. Yet as I am reaching the last year of my twenties (as my hubby likes reminding me), I have been contemplating my life. By which I mean looking back at where I have been, where I am, and where I want to go from here.

Eleven years ago, when I graduated from high school, I am not where I thought I would be at in life. I had my life mapped out a bit different from God. By 24 (at the latest), I would be a college graduate, engaged to be married or at least seriously dating someone, and living on my own. Well, this is reality: Graduated with a BA in Art at 23 1/2; did not consider it to be seriously dating until I was 25 (it had been almost a year at that age); was not engaged until I was 27 and then married 10 weeks later (how wonderful is that?!); and lived at home until I was married (except for the summer I was 20 and worked at a camp three miles from home).

Life does not always turn out the way one plans. I have come to realize that is a good thing. Waiting until my later twenties to be married gave me more life experience and more time to observe the marriages of those around me. I saw what I wanted, what I did not want, and learned from others’ mistakes. When I was about 20, I had made a mental list of what I wanted in a husband and there were definite things/qualities I would not compromise on. I remember an old boss of mine laughing at me and my list, telling me that I was “not living in the real world.” Well, here is to my old boss! I did not settle for my husband. I found a man that loves me in spite of me! And he matches a lot of those things I was looking for all those years ago.

Is he perfect? He is perfect for me. : ) And I am perfect for him. He is my match (to steal from Ever After).

My mom was one month shy of her 27th birthday when she had me, the youngest. I did not think that I would be starting my family in my late 20s/early 30s. Again, my timing was not God’s timing. Thinking that I would have the “perfect” family (2.5 children, loving and devoted husband, a dog, and cat). Well, one out of four is not bad! I do have a loving and devoted husband. We are still waiting on starting our family; I am now allergic to cats and somewhat to dogs. Although, we have a stuffed animal dog named Watchdog (he has a watch on his leg…joke from my mom) who holds down the fort when we are gone.

As for where I am going: maybe by our second anniversary in September we will think more seriously of starting a family; we are so happy in our church, North Point, and with Pastor Jason and look forward to spending more years there; enjoying it still being “just the two of us”; wanting to finish our basement before children enter the picture.

God is good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

