Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | February 5, 2009

Is Perfection Worth It?

I will be the first to admit that I am a borderline Type A personality. For those of you reading this that do not know what that means, I am a bit anal-retentive and like things to be “just so.” I am somewhat obsessive/compulsive and a bit of a perfectionist.

Example: We own two different sets of silverware, yet they are combined in one silverware tray in a drawer. I like to have the two types separated, partly because it is neat and partly because they fit better in the tray when separated (according to me). One set is quite a bit thicker than the other and therefore sits in the tray better than jumbling it all together. And I really like that it looks more neat and organized that way. I like knowing that every utensil goes back to the drawer from whence it came. My hubby, on the other hand, when putting away silverware throws it all in together, yet separating by size. It really irritates me to open the drawer and see that mess. (Granted, I love that he emptied the silverware from the dishwasher.) This particular aspect of my personality is one that my hubby just does not quite get. Yet, being a mechanic that has every tool neatly placed in drawers, one would think he might have a twinge of understanding. I guess that cutlery and other kitchen utensils do not need the organization of tools…

Now, I am not 100% neat and organized about every aspect of my life. I should take a picture of our office/my craft space. But every thing does have its place there. (I do like to keep my desk quite neat and tidy at work, though.)

A song on the radio keeps catching my attention. Free To Be Me by Francesca Battistelli. One line of the chorus is really what makes me listen to the rest of the lyrics: But perfection is my enemy. It really made me think. Do I put so much emphasis on perfection that I am missing out on something better? Such as the time I spend “nagging” my hubby to please put the silverware in the way I like. Or how I start each Monday groaning and complaining about how my FIL threw a ton of paperwork on my desk over the weekend. And then about the amount of time it takes me to straighten up. I started to realize that I spend a bit too much time on how I want things to be, and not enough of just going with the flow and letting God take care of the rest.

Here is the entire chorus:

I got a couple dents in my fender
Got a couple rips in my jeans
Try to fit the pieces together
But perfection is my enemy
And on my own I’m so clumsy
But on Your shoulders I can see
I’m free to be me

Thankfully, God loves me in spite of my shortcomings! : )

Leave a Reply

Categories

