Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | April 15, 2009

Thank you, Susan Boyle

I happened to tune in to the last 5 or so minutes of NBC’s Nightly News. I usually avoid the news because it is 85-95% horrid, depressing, ulcer-inducing information. Tonight, I actually saw some wonderfully good news that put a smile on my face and made me glad that I had turned on the television.

Simon Cowell (yes, that lovable sarcastic judge from American Idol) is on a panel of judges on Britain’s Got Talent, along with two other Brits that I do not know. Anyhoo, onto the stage walks a forty-seven-year-old woman from Scotland, pleasant-looking enough but nothing to really stand out. She tells the judges her dream is to be a singer. Obviously, the judges and the audience are skeptical, some audience members even laughing at her statement. Laughter subsided as soon as Susan Boyle opened her mouth and began to sing “I Dreamed A Dream” from Les Miserables.

WOW.

I watched the clip on YouTube, and I was so completely impressed and blown away. I do not have even a smidgen of musical talent, but even I feel that Susan Boyle has “got talent.”

And so I want to say thank you to Susan Boyle. Thank you for proving (and we all need this reminder and often) that first impressions can be so absolutely wrong. Thank you for sharing your beautiful gift. Thank you for putting a smile on my face and giving the world good news to talk about. Thank you for showing the world that dreams can be sought and achieved at any age.

Here is where Susan’s voice can be heard. And if you think I am crazy for having watched it, then you can know that over 7.2 million others around the world are crazy as well.

Congratulations, Susan, on making it this far! May you become a star.

Responses

  1. Hey Emily, its up to over 15 million views now. When I watched it Thursday, I cried like a baby… I know, pathetic. But I showed it to my students in class to show them to not judge a book by it’s cover (it fit very nicely with the moral curriculum I teach every day) and they were all blown away, a lot of them said they got chills. I just love the fact that she proved everyone wrong!


Leave a Reply

Categories

