Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | August 27, 2009

Early morning

Those that know me best know that I am not a morning person. Never have been and most likely never will be. Yet, for the right incentive, I can drag myself out of bed at an early time. Such as this morning. Hubby needed to be up and ready for a guy coming to buy the Farmall at 7am. Ugh. The alarm went off at 630. It sure was dark still at that time! Well, I had planned on being up at a decent time to make breakfast.

I received my new Taste of Home Simple & Delicious on Tuesday and went through it yesterday, drooling over the fantastic new recipes in my hands. I love to bake, so when I saw the recipe for chocolate-orange scones, I HAD to try it. And it only has four ingredients! Sooooo easy, which is a plus for any recipe. And the fact that the base of the recipe is pancake mix—who does not have pancake mix in their cupboards? Add some heavy whipping cream, grated orange peel, and some chopped up chocolate bars (which I have a plethora of, always on hand for s’mores), and you have yummy and easy scones.

In less than half an hour, I had warm scones and a pot of coffee to go with them. I have decided that I love this trick I stole from my brother: sprinkle a little cinnamon over your coffee before you brew it. I adore that hint of flavor when I have my coffee black. So now I am sipping my second cup as I write this blog.

Another benefit to being up early and making a (small) mess in the kitchen is that I was motivated to do the stack of dishes in the sink. I ran the dishwasher last night, but not everything will fit in there (or do I want to put it in there!). So the kitchen is clean and dishes are done and drying. Now I just need to unload the dishwasher…

Here is the wonderful scone recipe:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a small bowl, mix together the following:

1 1/2 cups pancake mix

3/4 cup heavy whipping cream (I put in a dash more after mixing & thinking it was still a bit too dry for my liking)

2-3 tsps. grated orange peel

On a lightly floured surface, knead your dough six times. Add two chopped chocolate candy bars (1.55 oz. each) as you continue to knead the dough. Pat the dough into a 9″ circle. Using a sharp knife, pizza cutter or dough slicer, cut your dough into eight wedges. Place the wedges on a cookie sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes, or until lightly browned.

I used a knife to chop my chocolate bars, and that left some “crumbs” behind. I sprinkled the crumbs on top of the wedges before popping them into the oven. With my oven, I only baked the scones for a total of 10 minutes.

Now my next recipe I want to try is the monkey muffins (they have mashed bananas in them). Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

Categories

