Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | September 16, 2009

Millions of peaches…

My brother-in-law has a huge old peach tree in his yard and he was generous enough to share some with me. So generous in fact, that I had many paper bags (to help ripen some peaches) covering my kitchen counter! Thus, my foray into canning began.

I watched my mom can tomatoes and make cooked raspberry jam when I was young. Well, my mom had decided to give all her canning supplies to a friend of my sister, since my sister and I did not show much interest in canning. Then I decided to expand my garden and thought that canning would be a great way to go. More economical and all that. And after spending about $60 on supplies, I was ready to go!

I guess that I did not think that it would take a long time to can peaches. Yes, I was slightly clueless. Make that quite naive. After five and half hours of work last Wednesday night, I had five pints of peaches to show for it. Along with yummy smelling hands that multiple washings did not rinse away. At least I was kept occupied while hubby was testing out a drag bike.

I planned on making jam and a pie (the pie is part of my brother-in-law’s payment for sharing peaches) on Saturday. I should have planned ahead better, because I did not have enough sugar for one batch of jam. So after putting the jam on hold so I could go get more sugar, I was ready to get this over and done with! At the end of the day, I had eleven half-pints of jam and no more peaches. I would have had an even dozen, but I must have filled some jars too full on the first batch. I think I did pretty darn good for my first time canning! I did not have to re-seal any jars, so that is stellar in my opinion.

If I can peaches again, I think I want to use larger ones. The ones from my brother-in-law were (essentially) free, but on the small side. Like golf ball small. I think it would be easier to half and pit larger peaches. It was an enjoyable experience and worth the sweat and slight frustration.

I am looking forward to having fresh peach jam on my toast. And now that I have a fresh loaf of homemade bread, I can have some tomorrow!

(I will post pictures of my jars of jam and peaches when I download them.)

09/26/2009 Update:

Part of my 11 jars of peach jam.

Part of my 11 jars of peach jam.

Three of my five pints of peaches

Three of my five pints of peaches

Leave a Reply

Categories

