Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | July 21, 2010

40 week update

I am posting this a day early…so tomorrow is the due date!

Total weight gain: 33 lbs. (lost a pound somewhere…I did not find it yet either.)

Maternity clothes? Some tops are too short for my belly. I thought that some would fit better since she dropped, but not really.

Sleep: My feet are SO hot lately and it makes it hard to fall asleep. Hubby suggested I keep a bucket of ice next to the bed to dip them in once in a while. Number of bathroom trips during the night varies.

Best moment this week: Feeling like I accomplished a lot on Tuesday: made (from scratch) blueberry scones; went to BRU to purchase remaining items on registry that we wanted to have before she arrived; worked for 3.5 hours (have cut my hours since the uncomfortableness started last week); and made freezer cherry pie filling.

Movement: She is be-bopping all over as I type this. Between hiccups and kicks and finger diddling, she is definitely making me feel good about fetal kick counts!

Gender: Girl

Cravings: Nothing new.

Stretch marks: nothing more than what I had before getting pregnant. Midwives have commented on how I have no stretch marks on my belly.

Labor Signs: Braxton Hicks that are more strong; irregular contractions; lost the mucus plug; TMI WARNING: loose stools

Belly Button in or out? It is now mostly flat. It looks funny, mostly because it is darker now. Here’s a pic:

I understand the linea nigra, but what is up with my dark belly button? It has become progressively darker.

What I miss: Sleeping through the night! No swollen/hot feet!

What I am looking forward to: Having her here in my arms to love and snuggle.

Weekly Wisdom: Always kiss your children goodnight – even if they’re already asleep. ~H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

Milestones: I have made it 40 weeks. When the midwife came in to the exam room on Monday, her first words were, “You know due dates are a lie, right?” Said with a smile.

What I will miss: Feeling the hiccups–such a neat movement.

Leave a Reply

Categories

