Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | October 31, 2011

Contented day

image

The house smells wonderful! I have a countertop full of appliances, but it is worth the loss of workspace.

One crockpot holds cowboy stew for dinner. Another has slow cooker apple pie for dessert (Gooseberry Patch recipe). And the bread machine is baking a loaf of potato bread. Yum.

And I love how these appliances free up my time! That is a definite plus. More time to spend with Little Miss during the day (although her morning nap was spent putting together the apple pie…short nap). She has started to really enjoy being read to. She has always liked it, but now she brings us specific books and signs “please” when done so we can start over. I love it. I am an avid reader and hope this is an indication that Little Miss will be one too.

The sun has finally broken through the gloomy clouds as I write this! Hmm…guess that should be “type this.” I do not like waking up to gloomy days. But at least we are not buried under 30″ of snow like parts of New Hampshire. I will count my blessings.

Yummy smells, sunshine, moochies from the girl, shared PBJs for lunch, oyster cracker snack, the way the girl says “neigh,” a new member of the family, the scent of fall in the air, apple cinnamon candle on the candle warmer…

I have much to be thankful for today.

Thank you, God, for these blessings big and small. Thank you for giving these and many more to me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

