Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | December 27, 2011

Christmas Eve service

I was asked to participate in our church’s Christmas Eve service. The theme was “My Gift to God,” and went along with advent. My pastor asked me to speak on Journeying. This is what I read:

 

My name is Emily, and I have been on a journey with God—one that has taken me places I never thought I would go, and experience things that I did not think I would go through.

At the end of May, my father-in-law’s business burned down. My husband, Dan, works for his dad. This is our livelihood. We were shocked when the first call came, and anxious and fearful. While Dan was on his phone, trying to answer questions and find out more information, I was on mine, asking for prayer.

When we arrived as the last fire truck was leaving, we were sickened by what we saw. Seeing the charred remains of the building, of this business, was awful. Friends and family were there, to comfort and to help. We had to move Dan’s tool boxes out, before the water would rust the tools beyond use and before the roof might collapse. So many hands were there to help. No questions asked, as they all knew how important this was to Dan, to us. We were, and are, grateful.

And the next day, we needed help cleaning all those tools. We called, and people came.

We prayed, and God answered.

I have struggled with trusting God on this journey these past months. I had so many questions. Would there still be work? Would there be a place to work? Would we be able to rebuild? God definitely took us on a detour. We obviously did not plan for this to happen, but we have made it work. This journey has taken sharp turns (such as Dan being able to work out of another shop here in town) and has had a few bumps (such as the rebuilding not starting until almost five months after the fire). I am discovering more and more as I age that in everything there is something to learn, a chance to grow. And God has been with us, each step of the way.

A couple months ago, when I was at my worst battle with my trust, God provided me with beautiful reminders that He is with us, continuing to rain blessings on us: my husband has a garage to work in (in fact, he had five offers the night of the fire, and more came that following week); the building finally started going up; no one was hurt during the fire or during clean-up; work keeps coming in each week, providing us with income. And then God gave me words from a song that truly let me know I am not on this journey unaccompanied:

All of You is more than enough for
All of me for every thirst and every need
You satisfy me with Your love
And all I have in You
Is more than enough

God, my gift to you is my trust.

Isaiah 26:4 Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord himself, is the Rock eternal.

Responses

  1. Beautiful Sis. Wish I could have been there to hear you read it. I’ve been praying about what my word will be… my theme… for 2012 and God is really pressing it on my heart that my word is TRUST. This just seems to be another confirmation.
    God is so good.
    Love you much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

