Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | March 27, 2012

Recipes: English Muffin Bread

English Muffin Bread

I found a recipe for English Muffin Bread via Craft:, which directed me to “One Good Thing” by Jillee. My first thought was, “YUM!” Then I read the recipe and was trying to figure out the best way to trim it because I don’t have four loaf pans. Then I thought about how could I adapt it for my bread machine.

I knew that the maximum amount of bread flour for my machine is four cups, which is usually what goes into a two pound loaf. I decided to quarter the recipe for a one and a half pound loaf. It turned out great!

English Muffin Bread (adapted from “One Good Thing” by Jillee)

Makes a 1.5# loaf

  • 1 3/8 C. warm water
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/4 tsp. sugar
  • 2 1/4 C. bread flour
  • 1 1/8 tsp. active dry yeast

Place ingredients in your bread machine in the order listed above. Set on your basic or basic rapid setting, light crust.

(My basic rapid setting made this in two hours.)
**Update: I added between 1/4 to 1/2 cup additional flour during the kneading cycle, because the dough was runny and sticking to the side of the pan.

Nice crisp crust

On the original recipe, it calls for brushing melted butter on the loaves ten minutes before they are done. Cannot do that in the bread machine, but I think the crust is still nice and crispy.

The girl and I waited about ten minutes for it to cool before I cut into it for us to share a piece. It was wonderful warm and plain. Later I toasted a slice and buttered it, then drizzled honey on it. Phenomenal!

Yummy in the tummy!

Enjoy!

**Update: Works well for making mini pizzas! Spread sauce on a slice, add toppings and cheese. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Yum!

 

Responses

  1. ‘Making’ bread has been on my list for several months. Yesterday, I went to Cub to find some quinoa (KEEN-WA) flour. Failing that, I bought a half cup of oat bran, 5 pounds regular whole wheat flour, and bread machine yeast in a jar. I didn’t have a specific recipe in mind, but used the recipes I had as a guide. The loaf came out OK. It rose properly and was dense, but not heavy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

