Posted by: thewhimsicalbee | February 27, 2013

Craft: Yarn wreath

Last week my sister and I and our Indiana friend had our monthly get-together. We decided to make yarn wreaths. Sissy already had hers made and was going to show us how to make different felt flowers to adorn them.

We were inspired by all the wreaths we had seen on Pinterest. Along with the array of felt flowers. And yarn wreaths are such an easy and simple decoration for around the house.

I chose a neutral color of yarn to make my wreath more versatile with the changing seasons. Or on my whims. I then chose shades of green felt scraps that spoke of spring for my flowers and leaves. Easy way to change out the flowers: hot glue them to hair clips! Genius, right?! That way I do not need to make multiple wreaths with any flowers/decorations permanently attached.

image

I hung mine inside because it is just not practical for outside on our front door. I have a winter wreath on the door now, and the red ribbon has faded (over a few winters) to a dark pinkish color. Morning sun shines right on our front door. So inside my wreath will stay!

Materials: Straw wreath ($3.99 at Hobby Lobby)
Yarn ($2.77 at Walmart and I did not use the entire skein)
Felt scraps (been collected over the years, most from sheets of craft felt purchased for $.25 each at Hobby Lobby)
Lace (Indiana friend purchased and shared)
Hair clips (pack of 25 from Hobby Lobby for $2.99 or so; shared with Indiana friend)
Straight pins
Hot glue
Ribbon for hanging (purchased at 2011 Country Living Fair)
Wreath hanger (purchased at Hobby Lobby after Christmas on sale a few years ago)
Total cost: around $8 with tax

Fun and easy to make! And with yummy treats and good conversation thrown in.

Leave a Reply

Categories

